2. News
  3. Stories
  4. 2017
  5. 06
  6. Volkswagen Group honors its best suppliers

We use cookies to help you get the most out of our website and to improve our communication with you. We take your preferences into account and process data for analytics and personalization only if you give us your consent by clicking on "Agree and continue". You can withdraw your consent at any time with effect for the future. You can find further information on cookies and customization options by clicking on the "Show details" button. 

Show details Agree and continue

Volkswagen Group Honors its Best Suppliers

Volkswagen presents Group Award 2017 to 19 best suppliers for innovative strength and entrepreneurial reliability

The Volkswagen Group presented the “Volkswagen Group Award 2017” to its best suppliers yesterday at a ceremony in the ‘Motorwerk Berlin’. Before an audience of some 270 guests from 25 countries, Matthias Müller, CEO of Volkswagen Aktiengesellschaft, and Dr. Francisco Javier Garcia Sanz, Group Board of Management member with responsibility for Procurement, handed over the 19 awards to this year’s top Group suppliers.

“We must make further progress together. If we are willing to change we can successfully master the transformation in our industry”

Group CEO Müller

Group CEO Matthias Müller talked about partnership and the transformation of the automotive industry in his speech: “We must make further progress together and become better and better. Never before have not only the pressure, but also the opportunities been as great as they are today. If we are willing to change, we can successfully master the transformation in our industry.” Müller underlined that e-mobility and battery technology, autonomous driving, digitalization throughout the value chain, and new mobility services are not passing trends: “That is the future of our industry – our common future. Thank you for your willingness to explore new pathways with us.”

Garcia Sanz said: “A strong and uncomplicated partnership network based on a level playing field where information is exchanged almost in real time is essential to our success. And this must above all be a network that stands for transparency, openness and courage.”

This is already the 15th time that the Volkswagen Group has honored its best suppliers of the previous year for their innovative strength, product quality, development competence, sustainability, and professional project management. This year, the Volkswagen Group also recognized achievements in the new mobility solutions category for the first time. The Group’s “TOGETHER – Strategy 2025” program for the future lays the foundation for sustainable success in the mobility world of tomorrow and for becoming a globally leading provider of sustainable mobility. Collaboration with competent and innovative partners is one of the key factors for success.

“On behalf of the Volkswagen Group, I would like to thank you and especially your employees for your commitment and performance last year”, Garcia said, expressing his appreciation to the guests during the award winning ceremony. 

“We need a partnership network based on a level playing field that stands for transparency, openness and courage”

Board Member for Procurement, Garcia Sanz

The 19 winners of the Volkswagen Group Award 2017

Award winner
AISIN AW CO., Ltd. Japan Innovation & Technology
Aleris Switzerland GmbH Switzerland
ALLGAIER Automotive GmbH Germany
Behr-Hella Thermocontrol GmbH Germany
Innovation & Technology
Bridgestone Corporation Japan Innovation & Technology
Bürener Maschinenfabrik GmbH Germany
Dr. Schneider Holding GmbH Germany
Innovation & Technology
Dürr Aktiengesellschaft Germany
Global Champion
Fritz Dräxlmaier GmbH & Co. Germany
New Mobility Solutions
Hamburg Südamerikanische Dampfschifffahrts-Gesellschaft KG Germany
Global Champion
LG Electronics Inc. South Korea
Innovation & Technology
Leopold Kostal GmbH & Co. KG Germany
New Mobility Solutions
Motherson Sumi Systems Ltd. India Innovation & Technology
Muelles y Ballestas Hispano-Alemanas S.A. Spain Local Champion
Nucor Corporation USA Local Champion
Pino Components SL Spain Global Champion
thyssenkrupp AG Germany
Global Champion
Visteon Corporation USA Innovation & Technology
Witzenmann GmbH Germany

Important note

When you access this link, you leave the pages of Volkswagen AG. Volkswagen AG does not claim ownership of third-party websites accessible via links and is not responsible for their content. Volkswagen has no influence on the data that is collected, stored or processed on this site. You can find more detailed information on this in the data protection declaration of the provider of the external website.

Continue to page Cancel